Today, Friday 7th May is the anniversary of the sinking of the Cunard liner RMS Lusitania off the Old Head of Kinsale on May 7th 1915. The ship had traveled from New York en route to Liverpool when it was struck by a single torpedo from the U20, killing 1298 passengers and crew. Kinsale based fishing boats were first on the scene to help survivors and recover victims. The inquest was held in the Courthouse (Museum where a verdict of wilful murder was returned by the 14 man jury of shopkeepers and fishermen. The destruction of the Lusitania was regarded as an outrage and resulted in anti-German feeling in the United States. The sinking caused considerable controversy at the time and ever since as the German authorities sought to justify the attack on the grounds that the ship carried a cargo of explosives which caused it to sink so quickly while the British maintained that the cargo of bullets was allowed. Today Rev Peter Rutherford and Rev Stan Hession will lead a service of remembrance at the graves in Saint Multose Churchyard when members of the Kinsale History gather for the annual commemoration at 2 p.m.
The owners of the Lusitania wreck are the Lusitania Museum/Old Head Signal Tower Group who are currently raising funds for a new museum to honour this significant moment in Irish history. This sub-committee of Courceys Rural Development had already restored the early 19th century Napoleonic Signal Tower on the site, which is now open to the public. It is the only one of 81 built in Ireland to be fully restored and available to visit. The Covid-19 pandemic has seriously disrupted the funding for the project with no visitors allowed and no fundraising weekends possible.
Named in honour of RMS Lusitania, the museum will be a place of culture, learning and history, attracting tourists, visitors, schools etc., while providing local employment opportunities.
Make a donation HERE

Follow Us